The simple answer is there is not a way for us to know before an application comes in and we have processed all the information.
We are looking for basic criteria in prospective tenants as a basis for your approval. With your help we will do everything we can to try to get you approved but there are cases where that may not happen. The more information you can provide us the better the chances are we will be able to work with you.
Things we want to see on your application and will help you get approved.
- Good Rental History
- Job History with the same employer for at least 6 Months
- A clean background.
- Having never been charged or convicted of a felony.
- No previous Evictions or Current Balances owed to other Properties
Below are items that may cause the us to say no or ask for more money down, last month’s rent, co-signers, or other additional consideration in order to try to work with you in an effort to get you approved.
- Lack of Rental History
- Bad Rental History (multiple late pays or any evictions)
- Negative items on your background (evictions, criminal charges, etc)
- Bad checks or excessive collection items on your credit
- No income
Please help us by being honest and up front on the application and explain any issues in detail. And please understand that there are times that we will not be able to approve the applications. If you are not truthful on your application you will be denied.
(The items above are basic criteria and do not represent all scenarios)
If your lease expiration is coming up and you intend to move the state of Missouri requires no less than 30 days notice be given in writing to a landlord. We will accept online intent to vacate, emails, written notice that is dropped off at the office and or mailed to the office. The 30 day period also must run with the pay period. All of our leases run from the 1st of the month to the last day of the month so notice is due by the 1st day of the month that your lease expires.
If your lease is set to expire on May 31st you MUST give notice to vacate by May 1st.
When 2 (or more) parties enter into a lease, they become both jointly AND severally liable, meaning that the full amount is due on the due date and the rent is 100% collectible from one or all parties. It is up to the roommates to decipher how much they should pay jointly and it does not matter as long it is paid in full. If one room mate pays half and the other(s) do not pay, the delinquent amount is collectible from ALL parties, including the roommate that has already paid half. However, the roommate should save receipts and payment records because they have a very legitimate cause for collecting that amount from the other roommate(s), but would be a small claims suit outside of the lease agreement and would not have anything to do with the landlord.
Each property is different so you will need to look at the description of the property to see if the listing says No Pets Allowed or Some Pets Allowed with Approval and Pet Fee. If it says No Pets Allowed we are firm in that we will not allow pets at that property. If it says Some Pets Allowed with Approval and Pet Fee then we will consider pets. It does not guarantee your pet will be approved.
Also the following breeds and any mix of thereof are not accepted by home owners insurance companies and cannot be approved:
- American Pit Bull Terrier, America Staffordshire Terrier & Staffordshire Terriers
- Doberman Pinschers
- Chow/ Chow Chow
- Presa Canario
- Alaskan Malamutes
- Some Huskies
- Wolf-hybrids or Wolf mixed with any Breed
We may ask for a letter from your vet to determine the breed, if you are not sure or if it is in question.
Once a pet is approved we will be able to determine what the fee will be for the pet. We will not know for 100% what the fee will be until that time. But the majority of the time the fees are close to the following:
Small/Med Dog: $200-$400
Large Dog: $300-$500
Multiple Pets: $300-$500
You will always need to get a pet approved before bringing the pet into your home. If you are found to have an unauthorized pet you will be charged a $500 unauthorized pet penalty fee and may face eviction as it is a violation of your lease.
There is a possibility that we will not approve a pet after the application process so if you know you are wanting a pet in the future let us know up front.
If you lease a House or Duplex you as the tenant are responsible for ALL Utilities and the services MUST be put in your name(s) before you will be given keys to move in. We suggest requesting a transfer into your name 5-7 days prior to your move in date.
If you are moving in on June 1st we suggest contacting City Utilities on May 25th and requesting that the Utilities be transferred to your name on June 1st. Please know this does not mean the utilities will be in your name on May 25th, it means on June 1st the utilities will be in your name.
We only suggest doing this as there are times City Utilities cannot have them switched the same day you call and this can delay you receiving keys.
If you lease an apartment the Utilities are provided by the Landlord.
Springfield City Utilities Contact Information:
Phone: 417-863-9000 Website: www.cityutilities.net
The tenant is responsible for MOWING and WEED EATING the Front and Back yard as well as any yard work that may be needed.
If the Tenant(s) fail to mow the yard as required and the Landlord has to mow the property the Tenant(s) will be billed for the mowing services in the amount of $50.00 each time it is done.